top of page

Self-Publishing : "Batalhas de um Tradutor Iniciante" by Ana Honrado

On the last week of November of 2013 it was published on paper and e-book, the work "Batalhas de um Tradutor Iniciante", by the publisher rookie Ana Honrado.

Ana Honrado is 28 years old and lives in the district of Setúbal, Portugal.

Her work is marked by the historic atmosphere of Lisbon influenced by the way she sees the world and therefore her writing.


"There are few people who can accomplish the dream of work on what they love. I do not recall ever wanting to be anything other than a translator, I do not know exactly when I began to dream of the day when I would be "accepted" as a translator, but I know that many years ago that dream became mine.

I've always been interested in foreign languages, the meaning of words and the power that a translation and different cultures have on people's lives. I travelled a lot and I even lived abroad in order to meet other people, cultures, languages and ways of being that would influence the way I see others and my work.


I find interesting that there is a language common to all member states of the European Union, although today I understand that that's not enough.


I had the opportunity to work with people from different cultures in different aspects,and it taught me that although we have small differences that make us unique and that our mother tongue is and always will be a part of who we are, we are similar.

I believe, however, that the translator has its own culture and as an actor, wears other cultures at times when it has to translate for different people with different languages, this because each culture has its own way of being, acting and make themselves heard.


Today, better than ever, I understand the honor that is to work with a product that influence people's lives and not only the lives of other people, but my life and that of my friends.

Working as a translator, in a way, is earning a revenue to work for myself."

Destaque
Tags
Nenhum tag.
bottom of page